Civetta Property Group, LLC
Unsolicited application, evaluated under the dispo
16 housing units sold, across 14 properties · Council District 2 · Civetta Property Group, LLC
What is missing from the record
Steps with no date on record, or that the record shows were stopped. A step that is not on record may still have happened.
- Deed into the Land BankPartly done
On record for 86% of the properties; the rest are not on record yet.
- ClosingPartly done
On record for 79% of the properties; the rest are not on record yet.
Where this project stands
Five steps, from the Board agenda to the closing. A disposition is the sale or transfer of a Land Bank property. The Council step is City Council's approval of the sale, which comes after the Board's approval.
- 1. On a Board agendaDoneMay 10, 2022 to May 13, 2025
- 2. Board approvalDoneSep 12, 2023 to May 13, 2025
- 3. Council approval of the dispositionDoneOct 12, 2023 to Jun 5, 2025
- 4. Deed into the Land BankPartly doneMar 24, 2016 to Jan 24, 202586% of properties
- 5. ClosingPartly doneFeb 6, 202679% of properties
Board hearings
One row for each Board hearing where this project was on the agenda. Fewer than six approving votes means no decision was reached; it is not a denial. Speakers and letters are public comments on the item.
| Date | Agenda item | Outcome | Vote as recorded | Public speakers | Letters |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 10, 2022 | 5.A.1 | Tabled | not stated | 0 | 0 |
| Jul 12, 2022 | VII.A | Denied | not stated | 9 | 2 |
| Sep 13, 2022 | V.A.2 | No decision (fewer than six approvals) | 4-2 | 8 | 2 |
| Sep 12, 2023 | V.A(1) | Approved | unanimous | 3 | 0 |
| May 13, 2025 | IV.D | Approved | unanimous | 1 | 0 |
How members voted
Shown only where the minutes or a transcript record how a member voted; a voice vote with no names shows no one. Y = yes, N = no, A = abstained, R = recused. A blank cell means no vote by that member is on record for that item.
| Member | 2022-07-12VII.A | 2022-09-13V.A.2 |
|---|---|---|
| Alexander Balloon | Y | Y |
| Joshu Harris | Y | Y |
| Majeedah Rashid | Y | |
| Maria Gonzalez | Y | |
| Michael Johns | Y | N |
| Michael Koonce | Y | Y |
| Rebecca Lopez-Kriss | Y | |
| Rick Sauer | Y | N |
City Council
City Council resolutions that name this project's properties, from Council's Legistar records. Earlier resolutions often moved the lots into the Land Bank; they are not Council's approval of this sale (step 3 above).
Closings
From the Land Bank's settlement records.
| Purchaser | Closing date | Price | Appraised value | Units | Council resolution |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Civetta Property Group LLC | Feb 6, 2026 | $1,100 | $1,310,000 | 16 | 230686;250580 |
Days from the first Board approval to each closing: 878.
People and organizations
- Applicant
- Civetta Property Group, LLC
- Council resolutions naming these properties, sponsored by
- Kenyatta Johnson (resolutions 220391, 241085)
- Board members with a recorded vote
- Alexander Balloon (yes), Joshu Harris (yes), Majeedah Rashid (yes), Maria Gonzalez (yes), Michael Johns (no), Michael Koonce (yes), Rebecca Lopez-Kriss (yes), Rick Sauer (no)
Public comment
A position is counted only where the person stated one at a hearing or in a letter. Letters read aloud at a meeting are staff summaries, not the writer's own words. Officials and people speaking for an organization are named; residents who spoke for themselves are counted, not named.
Across all hearings: 21 public speakers and 4 letters, with 5 statements of support and 19 of opposition.
| Named commenters (19 in all, residents included) | Stated position | Speaking for (organization) |
|---|---|---|
| Jihad Ali | oppose | |
| Michael Tomasetti | support | |
| Justin Veasey | support | BVG Property Group (Trove Capital Affordable Housing) |
| Tiffany Green | oppose | Concerned Citizens of Point Breeze |
| Dawud Bey | support | Fine Print Construction, LLC |
| Claudia S. Sherrod | support | Point Breeze Community Development Coalition, Point Breeze RCO |
| Concerned Citizens of Point Breeze | oppose | Concerned Citizens of Point Breeze |
| Christopher Sample | oppose | Office of Councilman Kenyatta Johnson |
| Rhonda Leader | support | Civetta Property Group, LLC |
From the record
Passages quoted from the Board's minutes, packets and transcripts. 6 of 17 shown.
… resolution amending Resolution No. 2022-9 adopted by the Board on April 12, 2022. Mr. Balloon moved to approve the proposed resolution. Mr. Johns seconded the motion. Upon motion made and duly seconded, the Board unanimously approved the Resolution Amending Resolution 2022-9 to Remove 533, 539, 541 and 543 N. Conestoga Street from the Approved Disposition and to Approve the Corresponding Reduction in Number of Housing Units Constructed and Price Paid by Civetta 1, LLC, attached to these minutes as Exhibit B. Item 5 Property Dispositions 5.A.1. Development – Affordable Housing - TABLED Ms.…
Minutes · May 10, 2022, item 5.A.1 · packet p. 8 · PLB Board Package for 6.14.2022 Board Meeting.pdf
Agenda · May 10, 2022, item 5.A.1 · packet p. 1 · PLB Board Package for 5.10.2022 Board Meeting.pdf
… minutes as Exhibit D). Item VII Property Dispositions Item VII.A. Mr. Lawrence informed the Board that this is an unsolicited application from Civetta Property Group, LLC. The Board is asked to authorize the disposition of properties in South Philadelphia’s Point Breeze neighborhood to the developer for the development of twenty-six (26) mixed-income homeownership units, one of which would also contain commercial space, in the 2nd Council District. The properties included in the proposed disposition are 1811, 2114 and 2123 Fernon Street; 1930 and PLB Board of Directors DRAFT Meeting Minu…
Minutes · Jul 12, 2022, item VII.A · packet p. 9 · PLB Board Package for 8.9.2022 Board Meeting.pdf
Agenda · Jul 12, 2022, item VII.A.1 · packet p. 2 · PLB Board Package for 7.12.2022 Board Meeting.pdf
… to the meeting at this time. Item V.A.2 Mr. Lawrence requested Board approval for the disposition of 1811, 2114 and 2123 Fernon Street; 1930 and 1932 Norwood Street; 1629, 1642, 1648 and 1652 Point Breeze Avenue; 1824 S. 20th Street; and 1835 S. 22nd Street, in the Second Council District, to Civetta Property Group, LLC for the development of twenty-two (22) affordable homeownership units that will be sold to households at or below 80% AMI. The project will consist of three (3) two-story single-family units, ten (10) units in five (5) three-story duplexes, and nine (9) units in three (3) t…
Minutes · Sep 13, 2022, item V.A.2 · packet p. 7 · PLB Board Package for 10.11.2022 Board Meeting.pdf
Agenda · Sep 13, 2022, item V.A.2 · packet p. 2 · PLB Board Package for 9.13.2022 Board Meeting.pdf
Properties (14)
11 closed, 3 not closed yet.
Not closed yet (3)
| Address | OPA account number | Status | Deed into the Land Bank | Closing date | Entered the Land Bank via |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1900-02 POINT BREEZE AVE | 482269705 | Board approved, not yet closed | not on record | not closed | none found |
| 1901 POINT BREEZE AVE | 482266205 | Board approved, not yet closed | Dec 19, 2016 | not closed | RDA |
| 2111 SIGEL ST | 482018500 | Board approved, not yet closed | not on record | not closed | none found |
Closed (11)
| Address | OPA account number | Status | Deed into the Land Bank | Closing date | Entered the Land Bank via |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1629 POINT BREEZE AVE | 364120005 | Closed | May 10, 2017 | Feb 6, 2026 | RDA |
| 1642 POINT BREEZE AVE | 364123505 | Closed | May 10, 2017 | Feb 6, 2026 | RDA |
| 1648 POINT BREEZE AVE | 364123805 | Closed | May 10, 2017 | Feb 6, 2026 | RDA |
| 1652 POINT BREEZE AVE | 364124005 | Closed | May 10, 2017 | Feb 6, 2026 | RDA |
| 1811 FERNON ST | 363075605 | Closed | Feb 24, 2017 | Feb 6, 2026 | RDA |
| 1824 S 20TH ST | 481324805 | Closed | Apr 18, 2016 | Feb 6, 2026 | RDA |
| 1835 S 22ND ST | 482183900 | Closed | Mar 24, 2016 | Feb 6, 2026 | RDA |
| 1930 S NORWOOD ST | 482152605 | Closed | May 11, 2016 | Feb 6, 2026 | RDA |
| 1932 S NORWOOD ST | 482152705 | Closed | May 11, 2016 | Feb 6, 2026 | RDA |
| 2114 FERNON ST | 363092700 | Closed | Sep 18, 2024 | Feb 6, 2026 | RDA |
| 2123 FERNON ST | 363082900 | Closed | Jan 24, 2025 | Feb 6, 2026 | RDA |
Sources: Board minutes and packets; PHDC workbook; Council (Legistar); Transcript. Built from the Land Bank Board's minutes, packets and transcripts, the Land Bank's settlement workbook, and City Council records.